Municipal Assembly Decision: New Corporators’ Enthusiasm Soars, Dashes Hopes

A decision made by the Gujarat BJP has brought joy to several corporators, while it has disappointed some office bearers who were hoping for a repeat term. Gujarat Pradesh BJP President CR Patil has announced a “no-repeat” policy for the upcoming municipal and corporation appointments. This decision aims to provide opportunities to a wider range of individuals. Priority will be given to candidates from the general category for general seats. Factors such as seniority, skills, qualifications, and any allegations against a candidate will be taken into account. This decision has sparked enthusiasm among those aspiring to become mayor or standing chairman.

Ahmedabad’s Woman Mayor Contender, Gitaben Patel, Withdraws from the Race.

In adherence to the “no-repeat” policy, the most senior woman corporator and current deputy mayor, Gitaben Patel, has withdrawn from the race for the position of mayor in Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation. Similarly, contenders like standing committee chairman Hitesh Barot and ruling party leader Bhaskar Bhatt won’t be able to repeat their terms due to this policy. This has created an atmosphere of enthusiasm among newly elected corporators vying for these positions.

Chance of Electing a Patidar Woman as Mayor

The candidacy of Jatin Patel, the corporator from Ghatlodia Ward and Chairman of the Water Supply Committee, and Mahadev Desai, Chairman of the Road and Building Committee, has gained strength for the position of Standing Committee Chairman following this decision. However, any other senior corporator could also be appointed as the Chairman of the Standing Committee. There’s a possibility of selecting a Patidar woman as the mayor and an OBC corporator as the chairman of the standing committee. Alternatively, the same general category corporator may be appointed to both positions, or a new corporator might be given a chance as the ruling party leader.

Countdown Begins for Appointment as 22nd Mayor of Rajkot

The countdown for the appointment of the 22nd Mayor of Rajkot city has begun, with six names being discussed as women are reserved for the post of Mayor. Additionally, six names are under consideration for the standing chairman role. Previously, there was a recommendation for the standing committee chairman, but with CR Patil’s announcement of the no-repeat theory, this discussion has come to a halt. It will be interesting to see whether the BJP selects one of the discussed names or if the city surprises everyone with a different choice for the mayor, similar to the selection of the BJP president.

Discussion on Six Names for Rajkot Standing Committee Chairman.

Six names are currently in discussion for the position of Mayor in Rajkot: Dr. Darshanaben Pandya, Jyotsanaben Tilala, Nayanaben Pedhadia, Bhartiben Parsana, Varshaben Ranapara, and Pritiben Doshi. For the role of Chairman of the Standing Committee, the names being considered include Manish Radia, Jaymin Thacker, Nehal Shukla, Devang Mankad, Ashwin Pambhar, and Chetan Sureja. Nitin Ramani is being discussed for the position of Deputy Mayor, and Dr. Alpesh Morzaria, Pareshbhai Piplia, Babubhai Udreja, Nilesh Jalu, Narendra Singh Jadeja, and Ketan Patel are among the names being considered for the post of Ruling Party Leader.

Opportunity for New Faces in Surat

In Surat, the approach is to consider seniority when assigning positions. Corporators who have served multiple terms but are not currently holding any post in the current term are likely to be given a chance. However, there is also a possibility that one of the younger corporators may be assigned a significant position. During discussions in Surat, it was emphasized that incumbents in important positions should not be repeated, and there was a recommendation to accommodate new faces. The decision to implement a “no-repeat” policy has generated excitement among the corporators.

Candidates for Positions in Vadodara Advocate for Education Enhancement

The race for the positions of Mayor, Deputy Mayor, and Standing Chairman in Vadodara Municipal Corporation has intensified, with contenders vying for the roles. It remains uncertain whether the BJP, known for surprising last-minute name selections, will spring another surprise or choose from among the councilors currently in contention. There is growing speculation within the city’s BJP about the identities of the future mayor, deputy mayor, and other positions.

Niyati Rao

Niyati Rao is a seasoned writer and avid consumer who specializes in crafting informative and engaging articles and product reviews. With a passion for research and a knack for finding the best deals, Niyati enjoys helping readers make informed decisions about their purchases.