Nagaland Threatens Election Boycott: Demands Separate State, Imposes Weeklong Shutdown

The Eastern Nagaland Peoples’ Organization (ENPO) has initiated a week-long shutdown demanding the creation of a separate state named Frontier Nagaland Territory. ENPO is the apex organization of 7 tribes in Nagaland. Their agitation affects 6 districts of the state – Som, Tuensang, Kiphire, Longleng, Mon, and Shamator.

ENPO has threatened to boycott Lok Sabha elections if their demands are not met. The organization has not approved the construction projects sanctioned by the state and central governments. The lockdown has led to black market trading of essential commodities due to its prolonged duration.

Appeal by Konyak Union to Maintain Stock of Essential Items

The Konyak Union appeals to the general public to maintain a sufficient stock of petrol-diesel, gas cylinders, and groceries. The duration of the shutdown could be prolonged.

ENPO Holds Central Government Accountable

ENPO’s leader Tsapiky Sangtam stated that the central government has not kept its promises. We will pressurize all MLAs and MPs to resign to increase pressure on the center. Sangtam stated that ENPO will not participate in Lok Sabha elections. We will not be responsible for any untoward incident during this period. No one should expect our support after the elections.

Development Disparity Prompts ENPO’s Demand for Separate State

ENPO has been demanding a separate state since 2010 due to development disparity. The organization represents Chang, Khiamniungan, Konyak, Phom, Sangtam, Tikhir, and Yimchunger communities.

Lone Lok Sabha Seat in Nagaland to Witness Polling on April 19

Nagaland has the only Lok Sabha seat. Polling will take place here on April 19. Nagaland currently has a coalition government led by the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Lok Sabha Election: 46 Days, 7 Phases – Voting from April 19 to June 1

The Lok Sabha election dates for 2024 were announced on Saturday. The Model Code of Conduct is in effect. Elections will be held in 7 phases for 543 seats. The first phase of voting will be on April 19, and the last phase on June 1. Results will be announced on June 4. It will take 46 days from voting to results.

Niyati Rao

Niyati Rao is a seasoned writer and avid consumer who specializes in crafting informative and engaging articles and product reviews. With a passion for research and a knack for finding the best deals, Niyati enjoys helping readers make informed decisions about their purchases.