Unveiling the Schedule of ICC World Cup 2023: India-Pakistan Clash, Timings, and Dates

In the World Cup, India and Pakistan will face each other on October 15th at the Narendra Modi Stadium. The tournament will begin on October 5th with the match between England and New Zealand, and the final will be held here on November 19th.

The schedule for the ODI World Cup has been announced. ICC (International Cricket Council) made the announcement during a media briefing in Mumbai on Tuesday.

The 46-day cricket extravaganza will kick off on October 5th in Ahmedabad with the England-New Zealand match, and the final match will be held at the Ahmedabad Stadium on November 19th. The highly anticipated clash between arch-rivals India and Pakistan, known as the biggest showdown in Asia, will take place on October 15th at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule Announcement Live Updates: India’s fixtures

IND vs AUS: October 8, Chennai 

IND vs AFG: October 11, Delhi

IND vs PAK: October 15, Ahmedabad 

IND vs BAN: October 19, Pune

IND vs NZ: October 22, Dharamshala

IND vs ENG: October 29, Lucknow

IND vs QF2: November 2, Mumbai 

IND vs SA: November 5, Kolkata

IND vs QF1: November 11, Bengaluru 

The World Cup 2023 will be played in 12 cities.

The cities are Ahmedabad (Narendra Modi Stadium), Bengaluru (M. Chinnaswamy Stadium), Chennai (M.A. Chidambaram Stadium), Delhi (Arun Jaitley Cricket Stadium), Dharamshala (Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium), Guwahati (Assam Cricket Association Stadium), Hyderabad (Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Uppal), Kolkata (Eden Gardens), Lucknow (Ekana Cricket Stadium), Indore (Holkar Stadium), Mumbai (Wankhede Stadium), and Rajkot (Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium).

This tournament will last for 46 days, including three knockout matches, totaling 48 matches. India is hosting the World Cup in its entirety for the first time. Previously, India had co-hosted this mega tournament with neighboring countries.

In this edition, 10 teams will participate in the World Cup. Hosts India, along with Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, New Zealand, South Africa, Australia, and England, have directly qualified for the 2023 ODI World Cup. The remaining two teams will come through the qualifier rounds.

The first-ever ODI World Cup took place in 1975. On June 7, 1975, the first ODI World Cup match was played between England and India. England defeated India by 202 runs in the match held at Lord’s Stadium.

The first World Cup final took place on June 21, 1975, at Lord’s Stadium. West Indies defeated Australia by 17 runs to clinch the title. Until the year 1983, ODI World Cup matches were played with 60 overs per side. From 1987 onwards, the tournament switched to the format of 50 overs per side.

Australia has been the most successful team in the tournament, winning the World Cup five times. India and West Indies have won the title twice each. England, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan have won the title once each. India emerged as champions in 1983 and 2011.

Rasesh Nageshwar

Hi there! I'm Rasesh Nageshwar, and I'm passionate to write about entertainment, movies, web series, and sports. As a writer, I love sharing my insights and opinions on the latest trends, news, and events in these exciting fields.