Real Madrid Advances to UEFA Champions League Semi Finals After Defeating Manchester City

Real Madrid has reached the semi-finals of the UEFA Champions League (UCL). On Thursday, April 18, in the second leg of the quarter-finals, they defeated Manchester City in a penalty shootout. The second leg of both UCL quarter-final matches was played today.

Bayern Munich Defeats Arsenal in Second Leg

In the second match, German club Bayern Munich defeated English club Arsenal. Munich has secured a place in the semi-finals of this season as well.

Real Madrid Defeats Manchester City in Penalty Shootout

Real Madrid and City ended the second leg of the quarter-final tied at 1-1 at full time. Both teams drew the first leg 3-3. In this situation, the final score of the quarter-finals remained tied at 4-4. Both teams had to resort to a penalty shootout, where Madrid defeated City 4-3. The second leg was played at City’s home ground, Etihad Stadium. Madrid’s Rodrígo scored a goal in the 12th minute of the match to lead the team. However, City’s star midfielder Kevin De Bruyne scored in the 76th minute to equalize the match, which remained tied until full time.

Munich Defeats Arsenal 1-0

In the second leg of the quarter-finals, Bayern Munich defeated Arsenal 1-0. The only goal of the second leg, played at Bayern Munich’s home ground, Allianz Arena, was scored by Bayern Munich’s Joshua Kimmich. The first leg between the two teams ended in a 2-2 draw. In this situation, the total score of the quarter-finals between both teams was 3-2, and Munich emerged victorious.

How Are Matches Played in Two Legs?

Matches from the round of 16 to the semi-finals are played in two legs. Each club hosts one match. The team that scores more goals in both legs is declared the winner.

UEFA Champions League Since 1955-56

The world’s largest football league, the Champions League, is in its 32nd season. The champion will be crowned on June 10. The league started in 1955-56. It was initially named the European Champion Clubs’ Cup and was organized by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA). In 1992, it was renamed the UEFA Champions League. In each season, 32 teams participate, divided into 8 groups.

Rasesh Nageshwar

Hi there! I'm Rasesh Nageshwar, and I'm passionate to write about entertainment, movies, web series, and sports. As a writer, I love sharing my insights and opinions on the latest trends, news, and events in these exciting fields.