White Ball Cricket to Introduce Stop Clock Rule: 60 Seconds for Next Over, 5 Run Penalty Introduced

Limited overs cricket, encompassing both one-day internationals and T20 formats, is set to undergo a permanent change with the introduction of the stop clock rule. The International Cricket Council has decided to apply this rule to manage time in both formats.

According to the stop clock rule, the bowling team will have 60 seconds to start the next over after the completion of the previous over. Failure to comply will result in penalties imposed on the team. This rule will be universal with the ICC T20 World Cup, thus applying to all forms of white-ball cricket.

A penalty of five runs will be imposed for every third offense. Field umpires will issue two warnings to start the over within 60 seconds. After the third offense, a five-run penalty will be imposed on the bowling team. Consequently, for every third mistake during innings, the bowling team will face a five-run penalty. This means if a team exceeds 60 seconds per over in an ODI innings, 15 runs will be added to the batting team’s total.

Introduction of Third Umpire Timer

After each over, a countdown of 60 seconds will commence on the TV screens installed in the ground. The third umpire will control the initiation of this timer from the control room. When the 60 seconds elapse, the field umpire will issue a warning to the fielding team captain, keeping track of each warning.

This means that teams will have 15 seconds to take DRS after an appeal, following which the third umpire will initiate the stop clock displayed on the screen on the field. This allows players to review decisions.

Permanent Implementation of Stop Clock Rule with T20 World Cup

ICC has decided that the stop clock rule, trialed in December, will become permanent, starting with the T20 World Cup scheduled for the future. Umpires will have the authority to stop the clock due to delays caused by either the batter or DRS, ensuring fair play without any penalties for fielding teams.

The trial of the stop clock rule was initiated by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in December 2023. After its successful trial, it was decided to implement it in the T20 format. West Indies and England played the first match under these rules. The decision to make it permanent was taken by ICC after reviewing all the results in March.

The members of the ICC board are currently in a meeting at their headquarters in Dubai. In this meeting, it was decided to implement the stop clock rule. This rule will not only apply to T20 but also to ICC’s ODI format. It was revised to manage time in both formats. In Test cricket, if a team fails to complete overs on time, points will be deducted in the World Test Championship.

No Discussion on Champions Trophy Venue

On Friday, the ICC board meeting will also be held. According to cricket sources, no discussion will be held on the venue for the 2025 Champions Trophy. The issue of the Champions Trophy may heat up after the T20 World Cup as Pakistan has been awarded the hosting rights and India has not traveled here for political reasons.

Following India’s refusal, the last Asia Cup had to be organized in Sri Lanka. India had played all its matches including the final in Sri Lanka. India won the tournament, while the host Pakistan could not even reach the final.

Rasesh Nageshwar

Hi there! I'm Rasesh Nageshwar, and I'm passionate to write about entertainment, movies, web series, and sports. As a writer, I love sharing my insights and opinions on the latest trends, news, and events in these exciting fields.