Exciting WPL 2024 Auction on Dec 9: Gujarat Leads with ₹5.95 Cr Purse

The eagerly awaited Women’s Premier League (WPL) auction is slated to take place on December 9 in Mumbai, as announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) via its official social media channels on Friday, November 24. In preparation for the upcoming auction, all five participating teams have divulged their retention lists. It is noteworthy that the inaugural season of the Women’s Premier League unfolded in March 2023, marking a significant milestone in the progression of women’s cricket. As the auction date approaches, cricket enthusiasts anticipate the unfolding of strategic team-building decisions and the subsequent shaping of competitive rosters.

As the Women’s Premier League auction looms, Gujarat Giants emerge as formidable contenders, boasting the most substantial financial backing with a purse of Rs 5.95 crore. In contrast, the Mumbai Indians find themselves with the most modest financial allocation, entering the auction with a purse of Rs 2.1 crore. This financial contrast among the five franchises adds an intriguing dimension to the auction dynamics, setting the stage for strategic player acquisitions and competitive team-building maneuvers. The financial differentials reflect each team’s capacity to secure talent and formulate robust rosters, contributing to the anticipation surrounding the forthcoming auction on December 9.

The Previous Season’s Most Expensive Player Was Mandhana

Smriti Mandhana achieved the distinction of being the most expensive player in the preceding season, marking a significant milestone in her cricketing journey. Notably, during her debut season auction, she secured the status of the highest-paid player, with the Royal Challengers Bangalore acquiring her services for a substantial amount of Rs. 3.4 crore. This impressive acquisition underscored the recognition of Mandhana’s cricketing prowess and her impactful contributions to the sport.

In addition to securing Smriti Mandhana, the Royal Challengers Bangalore further strengthened their roster by securing the talents of Ashley Gardner, Natalie Sciver, Katherine Brunt, and Beth Mooney, each being acquired through competitive bidding. The team’s commitment to assembling a formidable and diverse squad was evident in their strategic player selections during the auction, setting the stage for a competitive and exciting season ahead.

Gujarat Releases the Highest Number of Players

Ahead of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 season, the five participating teams have collectively retained 60 players, including 21 foreign players. In the process of team restructuring, a total of 29 players have been released across all franchises. Notably, Gujarat Giants have opted for a significant overhaul by releasing the highest number of players, totaling 11. This strategic decision follows their performance in the previous season, where the team concluded at the bottom of the standings.

The release of players reflects each team’s strategic assessment and the pursuit of enhancing their squad dynamics for the upcoming season. As the teams engage in the auction process to acquire new talents, the reshuffling of rosters adds an element of anticipation and curiosity among fans and enthusiasts eager to witness the evolution of team strategies in the Women’s Premier League.

Mumbai Indians won the first season of WPL under the captaincy of Harmanpreet Kaur.

Mumbai Emerged as the Champions in the First Season

Mumbai Indians emerged as the champions in the inaugural season of the Women’s Premier League (WPL), securing the coveted title after a series of gripping matches. The pinnacle of their achievement occurred in the final match, held on March 26, which proved to be a thrilling encounter. In a closely contested battle, Mumbai Indians demonstrated their prowess by defeating Delhi Capitals, ultimately clinching victory by seven wickets with three balls to spare. The final match not only showcased the competitive spirit of the teams but also highlighted Mumbai Indians’ ability to perform under pressure, culminating in their triumphant journey to become the champions of the first WPL season.

The champions of the Women’s Premier League, Mumbai Indians, were awarded a prize purse of Rs 6 crore for their victorious campaign in the final match. Meanwhile, the runners-up, Delhi Capitals, received Rs. 3 crore for securing the second position. The third-placed team, UP Warriors, who faced defeat in the eliminator, earned a prize of Rs. 1 crore for their commendable performance. Unfortunately, the teams of Royal Challengers Bangalore and Gujarat Giants did not secure any prize money, having to settle without financial recognition despite their efforts in the tournament. The distribution of prize money reflects the acknowledgment of the teams’ achievements and contributions to the competitive landscape of the Women’s Premier League.

Know Who All Five Teams Retained and Who They Released

Here’s a breakdown of the retained and released players for each of the five Women’s Premier League teams:

Delhi Capitals (DC):

  • Retained Players: Alice Capsey (England), Arundhati Reddy (India), Jemima Rodriguez (India), Jess Jonasson (India), Laura Harris, Marison Cape (South Africa), Meg Lanning (Australia), Minnu Mani (India), Poonam Yadav (India), Shefali Verma (India), Radha Yadav (India), Shikha Pandey (India), Sneha Deepti (India), Tania Bhatia (India), Titas Sadhu (India).
  • Released Players: Aparna Mandal (India), Jasiah Akhtar (India), Tara Norris (USA).

Gujarat Giants (GG):

  • Retained Players: Ashley Gardner (Australia), Beth Mooney (Australia), Dayalan Hemalta (India), Harleen Deol (India), Shabnam Shakeel (India), Laura Volward (South Africa), Sneh Rana (India), Tanuja Kanwar (India).
  • Released Players: Annabel Sutherland (Australia), Ashwani Kumari (India), Georgia Wareham (Australia), Kim Garth (Australia), Hurley Gala (India), Mansi Joshi (India), Monica Patel (India), Parunika Sisodia (India), Sabineni Meghna (India), Sophia Dunkley (England), Sushma Verma (India).

Mumbai Indians (MI):

  • Retained Players: Amanjot Kaur (India), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Chloe Tryon (South Africa), Harmanpreet Kaur (India), Hayley Mathews (West Indies), Humaira Kazi (India), Isabelle Wong (England), Jintimani Kalita (India), Natalie Seaver (England), Pooja Vastrakar (India), Priyanka Bala (India), Saika Ishaq (India), Yastika Bhatia (India).
  • Released Players: Dhara Gurjar (India), Heather Gram (Australia), Neelam Bisht (India), Sonam Yadav (India).

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB):

  • Retained Players: Asha Shobhana (India), Disha Kasat (India), Elise Perry (Australia), Heather Knight (England), Indrani Roy (India), Kanika Ahuja (India), Renuka Singh (India), Richa Ghosh (India), Shreyanka Patil (India), Smriti Mandhana (India), Sophie Devine (New Zealand).
  • Released Players: Dan van Niekerk (South Africa), Erin Burns (Australia), Komal Janjad (India), Meegan Shutt (Australia), Poonam Khemnar (India), Preity Bose (India), Sahana Pawar (India).

UP Warriors (UPW):

  • Retained Players: Alyssa Healy (Australia), Anjali Sarwani (India), Deepti Sharma (India), Grace Harris (Australia), Kiran Navgire (India), Lauren Bullock (England), Laxmi Yadav (India), Parshvi Chopra (India), Rajeshwari Gaekwad (India), S Yashshree (India), Shweta Sehrawat (India), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Tahlia McGrath (Australia).
  • Released Players: Devika Vaidya (India), Shabneem Ismail (South Africa), Shively Shinde (India), Simran Sheikh (India).

Rasesh Nageshwar

Hi there! I'm Rasesh Nageshwar, and I'm passionate to write about entertainment, movies, web series, and sports. As a writer, I love sharing my insights and opinions on the latest trends, news, and events in these exciting fields.