New Zealand Announces T20 World Cup Squad for Kids: Williamson to Captain, Rachin Ravindra Included

New Zealand’s team for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 in the West Indies and the United States has been announced. The New Zealand Cricket Board unveiled the team comprising 15 members, including two youngsters, in a video tweet on Monday. The names of the children are Matilda and Angus.

Previously, New Zealand’s team announcement for the ODI World Cup 2023 was made in a different manner, with players’ families revealing the squad. On the same day, the board also launched the team kit for the tournament.

Star player Kane Williamson has been given the captaincy responsibility. Along with him, the team includes Rachin Ravindra, who showcased excellent batting skills in the ODI World Cup 2023. Rachin, along with Matt Henry, will be participating in their first T20 World Cup. Ben Sears has been included as the 16th traveling reserve.

This time, a total of 20 teams are participating in the T20 World Cup. New Zealand has announced its team for the tournament for the first time.

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 New Zealand Team:

  • Kane Williamson (Captain)
  • Finn Allen
  • Trent Boult
  • Michael Bracewell
  • Mark Chapman
  • Devon Conway
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Matt Henry
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • Jimmy Neesham
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Rachin Ravindra
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Tim Southee Traveling Reserve: Ben Sears

New Zealand will be part of Group C in the T20 World Cup 2024.

The opening match of the T20 World Cup 2024 will be between Canada and the host team, the United States, which will take place on June 1st in Dallas. Interestingly, the first-ever cricket match in history was played between the United States and Canada back in 1844. New Zealand’s team will kick off their campaign against Afghanistan on June 7th. They will then face the host West Indies on June 12th, followed by a match against Uganda on June 14th, and Papua New Guinea on June 17th. New Zealand’s team has been placed in Group C of the T20 World Cup.

So far, New Zealand has not managed to win a single World Cup title. In 2022, England defeated Pakistan in the final to clinch the title. India had to face defeat against England in the semifinals. India had won the inaugural tournament in 2007 but has failed to lift the trophy since then.

After India, Pakistan, Australia, and Sri Lanka have won the title once each. Meanwhile, the West Indies (in 2012 and 2016) and England (in 2010 and 2022) have won the T20 World Cup trophy twice each. This tournament has been held eight times so far, with the 9th edition scheduled to be held in the United States and the West Indies.

Rasesh Nageshwar

Hi there! I'm Rasesh Nageshwar, and I'm passionate to write about entertainment, movies, web series, and sports. As a writer, I love sharing my insights and opinions on the latest trends, news, and events in these exciting fields.