Modi Invited by President to Form New Government, Oath Taking on June 9

Narendra Modi Re-elected as Leader of NDA Parliamentary Party

On Friday, Narendra Modi was unanimously elected as the leader of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) parliamentary party for the third consecutive time. The meeting commenced at 11 am in the Central Hall of the old Parliament building, with the presence of 13 NDA party leaders.

All 293 MPs of the NDA, along with members of the Rajya Sabha and Chief Ministers and Deputy Chief Ministers from all states, attended the meeting. Following this, the NDA staked claim to form the government at 3 pm. The alliance leaders submitted a letter of support to President Draupadi Murmu.

After the meeting, Modi met with senior BJP leaders Lal Krishna Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi, and former President Ram Nath Kovind at their residences. Later in the evening at 6 pm, Prime Minister Modi met with President Draupadi Murmu to stake claim to form the government.

Rajnath Singh Proposes Modi’s Name for Prime Ministerial Post

BJP President JP Nadda delivered a welcome speech. Rajnath Singh proposed Narendra Modi’s name for the Prime Ministerial post. Amit Shah seconded the proposal, and Nitin Gadkari gave his approval. JD(S) chief Kumaraswamy also endorsed the proposal.

Following this, TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu and JDU chief and Bihar CM Nitish Kumar announced their support. Modi can take the oath as Prime Minister for the third time on June 9th at 6 pm at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. It is reported that the entire cabinet can also take the oath along with Modi.

First NDA Meeting Held; PM Met Leaders at Residence

The first NDA meeting was held at the Prime Minister’s residence at 4 pm on June 5th. A one-hour-long meeting was attended by 21 leaders from 16 parties. All of them endorsed Modi as the leader of NDA. However, today’s parliamentary party meeting will officially elect Modi as the leader of the NDA.

Yesterday, Wednesday, the President was given Narendra Modi’s resignation. The President accepted his resignation and dissolved the 17th Lok Sabha. Until the formation of the new government, Modi remains the caretaker Prime Minister.

BJP does not have a simple majority, with the support of 14 allies’ 53 MPs.

In the Lok Sabha elections, BJP won 240 seats. There are 32 fewer seats than the majority figure (272). However, the NDA has surpassed this figure with 293 seats. Apart from BJP, NDA has the support of 14 allied parties’ 53 MPs.

Chandrababu’s TDP is the second-largest party in the coalition with 16 seats, and Nitish’s JD(U) with 12 seats is the third largest. At this point, both parties are crucial for BJP. Without them, it would be difficult for BJP to form a government.

Niyati Rao

Niyati Rao is a seasoned writer and avid consumer who specializes in crafting informative and engaging articles and product reviews. With a passion for research and a knack for finding the best deals, Niyati enjoys helping readers make informed decisions about their purchases.