New Haryana Government’s Floor Test Today: CM Saini Claims Majority, Asserts Support of 48 Legislators in Letter to Governor

A special session has been convened in the legislative assembly today as the new government in Haryana is poised to undergo a crucial floor test. All preparations for this session have been completed, with proceedings scheduled to commence from 11 AM.

Prior to this, the newly appointed Chief Minister, Nayab Singh Saini, has called for a meeting of the party legislators. The BJP, along with its 41 legislators, will be joined by 7 opposition legislators in this test of confidence. Chief Minister Saini has asserted that he enjoys the support of 48 legislators, including the 7 from the opposition.

Earlier, the BJP was governing in coalition with the JJP in Haryana. However, following disagreements over the distribution of Lok Sabha seats, the BJP severed ties with the coalition on Tuesday (March 12) and, with the help of opposition parties, is forming a new government.

After taking oath as Chief Minister, Naib Saini also held a meeting with his five Cabinet Ministers at the Secretariat in the late evening.

Resignation of Manohar Lal Khattar After BJP-JJP Alliance Dissolves

Following the breakdown of the alliance between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP), Manohar Lal Khattar tendered his resignation to the Governor at 11:50 AM on Tuesday morning.

Subsequently, a meeting of the legislative party was held at the Haryana residence in Chandigarh, where Saini was chosen as the leader. Later in the evening at 5 PM, the Governor of Haryana, Bandaru Dattatreya, administered the oath of office to Nayab Singh Saini as the Chief Minister. Saini, a BJP MP from Kurukshetra, became the 11th Chief Minister of Haryana. Before taking the oath, he touched the feet of former Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar.

Naib Singh Saini took the oath of office of the Chief Minister before ex-CM Manohar Lal Khattar.

Cabinet Ministers Sworn in Alongside the Chief Minister

Accompanied by the Chief Minister, various Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislators were sworn in as Cabinet Ministers. Among them were Kanwar Pal Gurjar from Chhachhroli, Mool Chand Sharma from Ballabhgarh, Ranjit Singh Chautala from Rania, JP Dalal from Loharu, and Dr. Banwari Lal from Bawal.

After taking the oath, Nayab Saini proceeded to the Secretariat to assume his responsibilities. Meanwhile, Manohar Lal Khattar was also present and offered sweets to Nayab Saini. Subsequently, a Cabinet meeting of the new government was held, where decisions regarding the convening of the legislative assembly session were made.

Haryana CM Naib Singh Saini took charge.

Nayab Saini Vows to Win All 10 Lok Sabha Seats

Following his oath-taking ceremony as Chief Minister, Nayab Saini pledged that his party would fulfill 100% of the responsibilities entrusted to them. He stated that BJP candidates would emerge victorious in all 10 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state.

Nayab Saini’s wife, Suman Saini, commented on her husband becoming the Chief Minister, expressing that they were not aware of such a development. She credited former Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar for the achievement.

Saini Is Close to Manohar Lal

Nayab Saini shares a close association with Manohar Lal. It was on October 27, 2023, that Saini was appointed as the President of the Haryana BJP following Manohar Lal’s recommendation.

Nayab Saini's Journey from Youth Movement to Deputy CM of Haryana

Nayab Saini’s Journey from Youth Movement to Deputy CM of Haryana: Representing the OBC Community from Kurukshetra

The BJP high command has shuffled its cards in Haryana ahead of the Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha elections. On Tuesday, Manohar Lal Khattar severed ties with the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) and tendered his resignation along with his entire council of ministers. Following this, in the legislative party meeting, 54-year-old Nayab Singh Saini was chosen as the new leader.

Coming from the Other Backward Classes (OBC) community, Nayab Saini represents Kurukshetra in the Lok Sabha. As a legislator from Kurukshetra, Saini can potentially become the Chief Minister without being elected as an MLA for up to six months. This means they can hold the position until September 11, 2024, without being elected to the Legislative Assembly.

Niyati Rao

Niyati Rao is a seasoned writer and avid consumer who specializes in crafting informative and engaging articles and product reviews. With a passion for research and a knack for finding the best deals, Niyati enjoys helping readers make informed decisions about their purchases.