Lok Sabha Election Result: NDA Set to Form Government for Third Time! Narendra Modi Likely to Take Oath as PM on This Date

The aftermath of the Lok Sabha elections has stirred up considerable interest, especially as the results have surprised many. While the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) secured a majority, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fell short of its anticipated landslide victory. With the NDA garnering a majority, discussions have swiftly turned towards the formation of the third consecutive Narendra Modi-led government in the country. 

The date and time for the oath-taking ceremony of the new government have been reportedly finalized, with sources suggesting it may occur on the evening of June 8th. Concurrently, discussions and negotiations with potential allies for the new cabinet have gained momentum, indicating that the naming of ministers might be finalized within the next two to three days.

New Record on the Horizon

Following his swearing-in for the third time as Prime Minister, Narendra Modi is poised to set yet another record. He will join the ranks of few leaders in the country’s history who have consistently won three consecutive elections and served as Prime Minister. 

This record was previously held by Jawaharlal Nehru. Modi’s achievement will stand shoulder to shoulder with Nehru’s legacy of being elected Prime Minister for three consecutive terms.

PM Modi Resigns, Swearing-in Ceremony on 8th!

Prime Minister Modi has tendered his resignation from his position today. President Draupadi Murmu has accepted his resignation. After the final Cabinet meeting, PM Modi arrived at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. 

The President has informed him to continue in office until a new government is formed. It is now believed that Narendra Modi can take the oath of office again as Prime Minister on June 8th.

NDA Meeting

An important meeting of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is scheduled for June 7th, where discussions regarding government formation will take place. Today also marks another meeting of the NDA, which will include leaders like JD(U) Chief Nitish Kumar, TDP Chief N. Chandrababu Naidu, and other prominent figures. 

Following discussions with NDA allies, there will be a meeting of BJP’s Parliamentary Board, focusing on the structure of the new government and the oath-taking ceremony. Nitish Kumar has already arrived in Delhi for the meeting, while Chandrababu Naidu is expected to join later in the afternoon.

NDA Secures Majority

The results of the Lok Sabha elections held on June 4, 2024, Tuesday, have been revealed. The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), has secured victory on 292 seats out of 543, while the BJP itself has won 240 seats. The Indian National Congress has secured 234 seats. 

Despite the BJP falling short of a clear majority this time, they had a significant victory in the 2014 elections with 282 seats and in 2019 with 303 seats. However, this time around, they have managed to surpass the majority mark by forming alliances with other parties.

Term Ends on June 17th: Discussion at PM’s Residence

Earlier today, Prime Minister Modi convened a meeting at his residence to discuss the possible formation of the government following the results of the Lok Sabha elections and the NDA’s majority. 

According to sources, the meeting at the Prime Minister’s residence began at 11:30 AM. It’s worth noting that the current term of the 17th Lok Sabha will conclude on June 16th.

Niyati Rao

Niyati Rao is a seasoned writer and avid consumer who specializes in crafting informative and engaging articles and product reviews. With a passion for research and a knack for finding the best deals, Niyati enjoys helping readers make informed decisions about their purchases.