Former Railway Minister and Rajya Sabha MP Naran Rathwa Joins BJP Today: Big Blow to Congress Before Lok Sabha Elections

Prominent Congress leaders from Chhota Udepur, including Rajya Sabha MP Naran Rathwa, are set to join the BJP today, donning the saffron flag. With the commencement of the Lok Sabha election campaign, the party is in turmoil, and Congress candidates are facing successive setbacks. Today, yet another heavyweight Congress leader, former Union Minister and veteran Congressman Naran Rathwa, is set to embrace the BJP. Rathwa’s term as a Rajya Sabha MP ended a few days ago. Following the conclusion of his term, he is heading towards joining the BJP.

Congress Faces Defections in Chhota Udepur

In recent times, the direction and stance of the Congress have been evolving, leading to a clear shift within the party. Now, in Chhota Udepur, Naran Rathwa and Sangram Rathwa, two prominent Congress leaders, are on the verge of leaving the Congress to join the BJP. Currently, in the Chhota Udepur district, Sukhram Rathwa and Arjun Rathwa remain as Congress leaders. 

Naran Rathwa is expected to join the BJP along with his supporters, which could significantly impact the Congress’ stronghold on the tribal vote bank in Chhota Udepur. With Naran Rathwa’s entry into the BJP, the saffron party stands to gain considerable ground in the tribal belt. In the presence of BJP’s state president, CR Patil, Naran Rathwa is set to make the transition along with his supporters. Given that Naran Rathwa hails from Chhota Udepur district, his move to the BJP could yield significant advantages for the party in the tribal belt, particularly in the Lok Sabha elections, enhancing the BJP’s influence among tribal voters.

Veteran Congress leader Naran Rathwa will assume the Kesario

Naran Rathwa: A Political Journey

Naran Rathwa, a prominent figure in Gujarat politics, has had a noteworthy journey in both the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. He first entered the political arena in 1990, aligning himself with the Janata Dal and initiating his foray into politics. His first victory came as a Congress MP, defeating Amarsinh Rathwa, a seasoned Congress leader. Subsequently, he contested again in 1995, defeating Bhikhubhai Rathwa of the BJP, marking his second term as an MP. However, in the 1999 mid-term elections, Naran Rathwa faced defeat against Ramsinh Rathwa of the BJP. 

Nevertheless, in 2004, he secured a third term, being appointed as the Minister of State for Railways in the Manmohan Singh government. Despite his notable tenure, he faced defeat in the 2009 and 2014 elections against Ramsinh Rathwa. Naran Rathwa’s close association with Ahmed Patel proved advantageous, and in 2018, he was elected as a Rajya Sabha MP, marking his fourth term in the legislative body. His political trajectory showcases his resilience and enduring presence in Gujarat’s political landscape.

Ram Ram will join BJP today at Kamalam

BJP Prepares for New Rajya Sabha Term Amidst Completed Tenures

As the tenure of their Rajya Sabha members concludes, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is gearing up for the upcoming April 2024 elections to renew their representation in the upper house of parliament. The seats vacated by the outgoing members will be contested, and BJP secures all four Rajya Sabha seats from Gujarat without opposition. 

Consequently, on the day of completing their Rajya Sabha terms, some Congress members are joining the BJP, altering the political dynamics, especially in Chhota Udepur where the BJP’s influence is intensifying. With the BJP’s dominance evident, Naran Rathwa, who completes his Rajya Sabha term, emerges as a strong contender for the Lok Sabha elections representing the BJP.

Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra Begins in Gujarat

Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra is set to commence in Gujarat on March 7th, starting from Dahod in Madhya Pradesh, where the significant tribal community resides, constituting a considerable portion of the vote bank. This justice journey primarily aims to garner support from the tribal community, starting from Dahod to various districts in Gujarat on March 7th, 8th, and 9th. 

The tour will unfold in different districts, with Jhalod on the first day, followed by Dahod on March 8th, and Godhra and Panchmahal on March 9th. The selection of Gujarat’s regions for the Nyay Yatra predominantly focuses on districts with a significant tribal presence, making efforts to sway the tribal vote bank towards the cause. However, with Naran Rathwa’s entry into the BJP, Gujarat Congress may face significant challenges.

Niyati Rao

Niyati Rao is a seasoned writer and avid consumer who specializes in crafting informative and engaging articles and product reviews. With a passion for research and a knack for finding the best deals, Niyati enjoys helping readers make informed decisions about their purchases.